Test Cover Image of:  Proceedings on Privacy Enhancing Technologies

Proceedings on Privacy Enhancing Technologies

PoPETs is the journal that publishes papers accepted to the Privacy Enhancing Technologies Symposium (PETS). PETS brings together privacy and anonymity experts from around the world to discuss recent advances and new perspectives. PETS addresses the design and realization of privacy services for the Internet and other data systems and communication networks.

Acceptance Rate:

  • Volume 2015: 20.35%
  • Volume 2016: 23,8%
  • Volume 2017: 22,5%  

Similarity Check Plagiarism Screening System

The editorial board is participating in a growing community of Similarity Check System's users in order to ensure that the content published is original and trustworthy. Similarity Check is a medium that allows for comprehensive manuscripts screening, aimed to eliminate plagiarism and provide a high standard and quality peer-review process.

Detailed description of the Similarity Check System can be found at:

Abstracting & Indexing

Proceedings on Privacy Enhancing Technologies is covered by the following services:

  • Baidu Scholar
  • Cabell's Whitelist
  • CNKI Scholar (China National Knowledge Infrastructure)
  • CNPIEC - cnpLINKer
  • DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
  • Dimensions
  • DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
  • EBSCO (relevant databases)
  • EBSCO Discovery Service
  • Engineering Village
  • Google Scholar
  • Inspec
  • Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)
  • J-Gate
  • JournalTOCs
  • KESLI-NDSL (Korean National Discovery for Science Leaders)
  • MyScienceWork
  • Naver Academic
  • Naviga (Softweco)
  • Primo Central (ExLibris)
  • ProQuest (relevant databases)
  • Publons
  • QOAM (Quality Open Access Market)
  • ReadCube
  • Semantic Scholar
  • Summon (ProQuest)
  • TDNet
  • TEMA Technik und Management
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory/ulrichsweb
  • WanFang Data
  • WorldCat (OCLC)

Volume 2020 (2020): Issue 4 (Oct 2020)

PoPETs is the journal that publishes papers accepted to the Privacy Enhancing Technologies Symposium (PETS). More information about PETS can be found here: petsymposium.org

All submitted papers are judged based on their quality and relevance through double-blind reviewing, where the identities of the authors are withheld from the reviewers. Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings.

PoPETs does not have article processing charges (APCs) or article submission charges.

For more information about deadlines, page limits, topics of interest, ethical considerations, and detailed instructions on how to prepare your article for submission, please go to the call for papers:

Rachel Greenstadt, Drexel University, USA (continues from 2017)
Damon McCoy, New York University, USA (continues from 2017)
Carmela Troncoso, EPFL, Switzelrand

Editorial Advisory Board
Carlisle Adams, University of Ottawa
Nikita Borisov, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Richard Clayton, University of Cambridge
George Danezis, University College London
Emiliano De Cristofaro, University College London
Claudia Diaz, University of Leuven
Roger Dingledine, The Tor Project
Hannes Federrath, University of Hamburg
Simone Fischer-Hübner, Karlstad University
Gemma Galdon Clavell, Eticas Research & Consulting
Ian Goldberg, University of Waterloo
Rachel Greenstadt, Drexel University
Kat Hanna
Nicholas Hopper, University of Minnesota
Apu Kapadia, Indiana University Bloomington
Damon McCoy, New York University
Steven Murdoch, University College London
Panos Papadimitratos, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi, TU Darmstadt
Andrei Serjantov
Adam Shostack
Paul Syverson, Naval Research Laboratory
Hinde ten Berge, Free Knowledge Institute
Carmela Troncoso, IMDEA Software Institute
Xiaofeng Wang, Indiana University Bloomington
Matthew Wright, Rochester Institute of Technology

Gunes Acar, KU Leuven
William Aiello, University of British Columbia
Mashael Al-Sabah, Qatar University
Abdelrahaman Aly, KU Leuven
Alessandro Aquisti, Carnegie Mellon University
Hadi Asghari, TU Delft
Shehar Bano, University College London
Kevin Bauer, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Matt Blaze, University of Pennsylvania
Sonja Buchegger, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Kelly Caine, Clemson University
Aylin Caliskan, Princeton University
Jean Camp, Indiana University Bloomington
Sherman S.M. Chow, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Christopher Clifton, Purdue University
Scott Coull, FireEye
Jed Crandall, University of New Mexico
Emiliano De Cristofaro, University College London
Rinku Dewri, University of Denver
Claudia Diaz, KU Leuven
Roger Dingledine, The Tor Project
Tariq Elahi, KU Leuven
Giulia Fanti, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
David Fifield, University of California, Berkeley
Simone Fischer-Hübner, Karlstad University
Paolo Gasti, New York Institute of Technology
Arthur Gervais, Imperial College London
Ian Goldberg, University of Waterloo
Thomas Groß, Newcastle University
Jens Grossklags, Technical University Munich
Seda Gurses, KU Leuven
Marit Hansen, Independent Centre for Privacy Protection Schleswig-Holstein
Ryan Henry, Indiana University Bloomington
Jaap-Henk Hoepman, Radboud University Nijmegen
Amir Herzberg, Bar Ilan University
Mireille Hildebrandt, Radboud University Nijmegen
Nick Hopper, University of Minnesota
Amir Houmansadr, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Yan Huang, Indiana University Bloomington
Kévin Huguenin, Université de Lausanne
Mobin Javed, Lahore University of Management Sciences and ICSI
Aaron Johnson, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Dali Kaafar, Data61-CSIRO
Apu Kapadia, Indiana University Bloomington
Aniket Kate, Purdue University
Stefan Katzenbeisser, TU Darmstadt
Florian Kershbaum, University of Waterloo
Negar Kiyavash, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Boris Koepf, IMDEA Software Institute
Markulf Kohlweiss, University of Edinburgh
Ponnurangam Kumaraguru, IIIT Delhi
Alptekin Kupku, Koç University
Susan Landau, Tufts University
Peeter Laud, Cybernetica
Adam J. Lee, University of Pittsburgh
Douglas Leith, Trinity College Dublin
Janne Lindqvist, Rutgers University
Ashwin Machanavajjhala, Duke University
Nick Mathewson, The Tor Project
Aleecia McDonald, Stanford University
Susan McGregor, Tow Center for Digital Journalism & Columbia Journalism School
Sarah Meiklejohn, University College London
Prateek Mittal, Princeton University
Takao Murakami, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Steven Murdoch, University College London
Arvind Narayanan, Princeton University
Muhammad Naveed, University of Southern California
Shirin Nilizadeh, UCSB
Guevara Noubir, Northeastern University
Cristina Onete, University of Limoges/XLIM
Catuscia Palamidessi, INRIA
Paul Pearce, UC Berkeley
Adrian Perrig, ETHZ
Bart Preneel, KU Leuven
Ananth Raghunathan, Google
Kasper Rasmussen, University of Oxford
Joel Reardon, University of Calgary
Michael Reiter, UNC Chapel Hill
Alfredo Rial, University of Luxembourg
Narseo Vallina Rodriguez, IMDEA Networks Institute
Franziska Roesner, University of Washington
Thomas Roessler, Google
Stefanie Roos, University of Waterloo
Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi, Technische University Darmstadt
Martin Schmiedecker, SBA Research
Peter Schwabe, Radboud Univeristy Nijmegen
Claudio Soriente, NEC
Thorsten Strufe, TU Dresden
Paul Syverson, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Abhradeep Thakurta, UC Santa Cruz
Michael Tschantz, International Computer Science Institute (ICSI)
Gene Tsudik, UC Irvine
Doug Tygar, UC Berkeley
Eugene Vasserman, Kansas State University
Michael Waidner, Fraunhofer SIT and TU Darmstadt
Tao Wang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Tara Whalen, Google
Philipp Winter, Princeton University
Joss Wright, Oxford Internet Institute
Matthew Wright, RIT


De Gruyter Poland
Bogumiła Zuga 32A Str.
01-811 Warsaw, Poland