Search Results

1 - 1 of 1 items

  • Author: Paulo E.A.S. Câmara x
Clear All Modify Search
A revision of the family Sematophyllaceae (Bryophyta) in southern Africa


In the Flora of southern Africa area, comprising the countries of South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Lesotho and Swaziland, the moss family Sematophyllaceae consists of three genera (Trichosteleum, Donnellia and Sematophyllum) and nine species. Core sematophyllous taxa with collenchymatous exothecial cells, long rostrate operculum, linear leaf cells and differentiated alar cells are included in the family. Meiothecium fuscescens is transferred to Donnellia and a new combination made. Sematophyllum wageri is reduced to synonymy under S. brachycarpum and a lectotype is designated for S. dregei. Each species is described and its distribution mapped.

Open access