EDITORIAL

In the last issue of BEITRÄGE ZUR TABAKFORSCHUNG INTERNATIONAL / Contributions to Tobacco Research we have informed you on the changes in the Editorial Board of the journal during the more than 35 years of its existence and presented our ideas for strengthening the role of the journal in the future.

At this occasion we would like to inform you that Werner Richter has left the Board of Editors this year. We thank him for his cooperation. The work of an Editor of a scientific journal would not be possible without the constructive cooperation of colleagues in the Advisory Board who, covering a broad spectrum of knowledge and specialities, guarantee scientific standards of a journal. We therefore should like to express our gratitude to all scientists who have been members of the Editorial Board and have contributed to the international appreciation of the journal with their careful and conscientious analyses of the manuscripts submitted that have helped the Editors in making their decisions: Hinrich Elmenhorst (Board Member from 1977 to 1995); Walter Fink (1981 – 1993); Lasse Hjern (1986 – 1995); Ray Thornton (1988 – 1993); Oskar Stuhl (1988 – 1996) and Motohiko Muramatsu (1992 – 1996).

The following scientists have joined the Advisory Board during the last years due to their broad knowledge in the field of tobacco: Helmut Reif (since 1993); Richard Baker (since 1994); Yukio Nakanishi (since 1996) and Lutz Müller (since 1996).

We regret to inform our readers that Lasse Hjern died this year at an age of 70 years in Stockholm, Sweden. The former Vice President Tobacco and Health and former Head of the Central Laboratory of Svenska Tobaks AB always presented his views with courage and stringency, opportunistic and populistic viewpoints were unfamiliar to him. He will be remembered and greatly respected for his contribution to scientific progress in the tobacco field and, to us, especially for his work as a Board Member of BEITRÄGE.

> Wolf-Dieter Heller Gerhard Scherer